May 27, 2013

  • Home Show Expos EXPOSED

     

     

     I just got home from a weekend in Truckee (located in the mountains of northern CA near Nevada) for work.
     
    Lola and I were there for a home show. We stayed Fri and Sat nights. Leaving Sunday afternoon. Avoiding that whole end of a three day weekend going home traffic by leaving a day early.Thankfully Monday is still a holiday for me and Lola ;)
     
     
    Traffic was unexpectedly light heading up the hill at 5pm on a Friday before a three day weekend.
    Thank you Dashboard Jesus.
     
     
    The sky was crazy with full moon eclipse clouds!
     

    It has been warm to muggy in Davis so the cool and brisk temps up there are a nice change.
     


    They had hot tubs the size of Noah’s Ark!
     
    This looked to be a huge home show event in Truckee. The venue is at a good sized high school. It had three large gyms. Vendors setting up complex home repair and remodeling booths. Even most of the outside parking area was filled with sprawling home idea structures.
     
    I stayed in a nice and comfortable private bedroom at a home situated on a ridge with panoramic views of the river up in a roomy neighborhood off the highway just leaving downtown Truckee. I think they must have at least an acre with apple trees and an abundant organic vegetable garden set up in an enclosed green house (this town gets the most snow and coldest temps in California). They had two dogs, two cats and a coop full of chickens that Lola was amazed and freaked out by – she is so not a country gal!)
     
     
     
    Sitting here with the sound of the rushing river and the full moon above was magical


    What I loved the most was a mini meditational fire pit amphitheater with incredible views of snow dusted mountains and a full moon that was going on this weekend. Lola loved hopping up the steps and overlooking the world.
     
    None of her speeches were about Obedience…
     
    Lola, as usual, was a hit. In her blingy gold service dog vest and an expo name tag. The tag labeled her a Speaker at the Health expo.
     
     
    This is not Chef Gary but that would be his cook ware (his booth was much nicer with rock star lighting)
     
    My booth is next to the cooking demo venue. The vendor, Chef Gary, is the consummate sales guy. He kept our corner of the venue busy, offered up free samples of his recipes. He found me a cup of coffee when I could not find the exhibitors lounge the first morning.
     
    Lo and I were DONE at 5pm on Saturday, so done we went back to the place we were staying and crashed for a forty minute nap. Just to gain back some wherewithal to go out to dinner.
     
    I asked the people I was renting the room from for a recommendation for dinner.
    Polly told me about an Italian spot in downtown Truckee. She said to sit at the bar – it was a very social scene and the food was great. She was spot on!

     
     
     A cruddy picture I found of the actual bar at Pianeta’s
     
    The place was hopping when I arrived. The hostess seated me at the crammed bar. I had to squeeeeze in between loud and ignoring parties. This made me kind of grumpy – balancing my purse on my lap and trying not to be nudged by my noisy bar neighbors on either side of me.
     
    I ordered a beer and began to eye the menu that I could barely open due to lack of space. Checking out the plates next to me and meals being brought out, everything looked wonderful. The place was loud and the bartender kept checking to see if I was ready to order.
     
    He was cute but I found his interrogations (Are you ready to order? Can I get you another beer? How is everything?) annoying…until I was half way through my beer. Suddenly I was invited into three different conversations and I found our barkeep caring and attentive ;)
     
    Everyone had a favorite dish, an opinion, a wine to try. I overheard gossip and life stories unraveling.
    I finished my beer, had another and got around to ordering dinner. (Chicken Marsala which was excellent!)
     
    A couple at the bar also had a booth at the home show. We did a little vendor shop talk. But mostly we drank and laughed.
    Advice was given, tears were shed (not by or because of me!), hugs and phone numbers exchanged upon departure.
    Greatest annoyed to fabulous dinner experience ever.
     
     
    These two were ready to alpaca and go home! (that is my own llame joke ;)
     
    I heard the lamest (llama-est?) jokes on the planet. Three times a day for two days straight. Always delivered with a fresh twist. That crazy Chef Gary – I am sure he had the most successful booth at this expo. And he was selling high priced cook ware. Hell, if I could afford that cook ware I would have bought some!
     
    I also loved my appliance department store vendor neighbor, Tracey. She was probably an early twenties, if that, young lady. Bright and a very good speller (catching mistakes on my hand made signs!). She and I had all of Chef Gary’s lame jokes memorized by Sunday at 5pm.
     
    She tried to friend Lola the whole time at the expo and Lo would have none of that. What is up with my fickle little scamp?

     

     
    Bunches of cool stuff to look at – this guy was drilling stone sculptures
     
    Because the event was so poorly attended, us vendor folk mingled and chatted and swapped info, cards and samples. I did my shopping on Sunday. By this time we were all pals. Deals and home show friends were made. A guy at a portrait photo booth must have taken eighty pictures of me. What is up with that? I am not one to ask for copies…Even as proof that I WAS working all weekend! ;) But he should have shown me how they turned out!
     
     
     
    A cool hanging lamp I saw at a restaurant in Guerneville months ago
     
    I bought a lamp like this only different (It’s blue and oval shaped) – the guy gave me a crazy deal (another new pal!). It is going over my bambooze cart. Another booth was giving away free boxes of energy efficient light bulbs and water efficient spray nozzles for an outside hose. I’ll take two please! And of course the pre-requisite gourmet olive oils and balsamic vinegars (cinnamon pear!).
     
    Plus I will be healthier about eating after listening to Chef Gary’s excellent nutritional and cooking advice the past two days. Not to mention my all those lame jokes to tell my friends!
     
     
     
    I bought an inflatable pool to put in the back yard so Lola and I can sit poolside on the sizzling days ahead of us!
     
    Lola and I are thrilled to be home sweet home. I have laundry and a couple of projects to work on. My landlord and his daughter are here to do a major overhaul on the duplex next door. The previous tenants trashed the place. I have been helping with that. 
     
    Happy Memorial weekend. Lets remember those who served and enjoy the day how ever you spend it.

Comments (20)

  • glad you made it home safe and sound. sounds like an eventful weekend full of good things.

  • That sounds like a wonderful time at a home show — hope you were successful too, next to Chef Gary!   

  • I hope Lola keeps her gold bling vest. Davis needs more glamour. I’ve gone through Truckee many times on a bus on the way to Reno. Good times. The bus rides home weren’t always so good.    

  • That was a very good working trip you made. More like a vacation than work: Good food, nice people around, full moon. Nothing better,…and a lot of lames jokes.Pity that Lola did not make friends with the neighbor. She wants all the place for herself, I guess..

  • How did you find the room?  Did you use AirBNB?  Sounds like a great place!Funny how we see things differently when the situation itself didn’t change…only something inside us has changed.  

  • @ItzaRoos - yes it was airbnb. Kind of pricey but thats what I get for waiting til the last minute. Have you and Tod tried that Italian place? I loved it and thought of you two the moment I sat down. Well, what changed in me was my blood/alchohol content ;)

  • Chef Gary looks like a master in cooking and cook wares.He is also a joyous man . Not boring at all ! I liked also the scene at the bar. Your trip to Norh California for work  gave to you diversified activities , pleasures and even meditation . I bet you wish this happened more often …but not Lola , the doggie who is only happy by her mum! Love Michel

  • Sounds like fun.  I love that area.  Isn’t that reasonably close to Downieville and that world-class singletrack?

  • cinnamon pear sounds fab! Great new profile photo too :)

  • @judyrutrider - When I went to get coffee or what ever in the mornings I saw that mine was about the only car in the parking lots with out a mountain bike in the back. There is some good riding in Truckee too. I have to be honest, Judy, I envied the idea but not the energy to do it. I loved riding. I have ridden some of the best trails in my area (if not all ;) I like not having to load up get out and work so hard any more. And I still love reading your posts when YOU do it. xxoo (I still have guilt about my awesome mountain bike sitting in cobwebs in my storage shed :(

  • Sounds like a good weekend to me!I’ll be here http://warweasel82.wordpress.com/ is Xanga belly ups.  Trying not to lose touch with peeps if it happens.  I don’t (and won’t) do FB, soooooo…

  • You lead such an exciting life Cassie!  I wish I was close enough to hang out with you!

  • It does sound like you and Lola had a great time. I used to love attending corporate seminars–not quite the same thing, but I loved it.You sure do know how to handle yourself and have fun like at the bar and poorly attended.Loved your pool!!  Hope your week is going well.frank

  • RYC : I liked , Cassi , your comment about the balance between beer and milk leading to a good and healthy behaviour !! Your entry above was really wonderful: a dream land!Love Michel

  • I forgot to mention that my wife and I went through Truckee many times driving to Idaho–even went through the town once–I think. I loved driving through the redwoods. Sounds like the bar was fun. Sure hope you have  a nice weekend, frank

  • RYC : yes ,Cassi, in Normandy all of the things are green , except the houses of course . This brings a feeling of freshness .Love Michel

  • Checking to say hello, CassiLoveMichel

  • On 4 days in advance I wish you a happy birthday , Cassi . I know it is on the 26th of June but I fear to forget so here I am.. Happy birthday!Love

  • and for the party ;

  • RYC : Thanks Cassi for your comment about the entry ” day to day during a week ” . You have the art to sum the all with some meaningful words . Brilliant .Love Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *