April 19, 2013

  • Tempting or Tipping My Empty Head

    I was in Chico California this weekend. It is in Northern California. I have never been there. I have been around this area (Redding and Yuba City) but never Chico. I expected it to be a little cooler but it may not be Chico’s fault. 

    There was every size of camo wear – babies to  grownups but NOTHING for an outdoorsy dog!

    I worked the Northstate Sportsman Expo – basically a bells and whistles gun show. All things outdoor and camouflage. They had trouts and antlers. Retrievers and rifles. Paint ball and monster trucks.

    This is the first monster truck I have ever seen in person – thank you Chico for scarring this little girl and me for life

    There is so much more. And the venue is right next to a Speedway (which was hopping the night I arrived to set up my booth). My view of Chico is of a specific demographic. My hotel is situated across the street from a sprawling mall, a Walmart AND an Applebee’s with a Red Lobster a short block away.

    I advise that you DO NOT search this and watch the video – mark my words

    I saw a family with young children practice target shooting at a booth. I over heard the mom telling her son how to hold the gun correctly. The shooting gallery looked like a long blow up bouncy house. I saw metal art with pistols that stated WE DON’T CALL 911. There is also a booth dedicated to an item called the Deer Zipper. Intrigued? A special winter sweater for deers? Their motto is Skin Smarter Not Harder. Sigh…I ain’t in Davis is I?

     

    Like a Golden Oasis in the middle of this mall spotted town

    I pictured Chico to be a bike friendly beer drinking party college town. This still may be true – there were several Sierra Nevada Brewery (Chico is the home of this consistently wonderful micro-brew) kiosks at the event, but I don’t have time to search it out. I am tired and Lola is tired. We are both hungry once we wrap it up at 5pm.  The prospect of investigating the town while trying to rustle my furry little hussy by myself when I could be curled in the room at my hotel drinking free beer sounds SO MUCH less aggravating.

    I did discover an awesome public radio show here in Chico 90.1 KZFR. Check it out. I love it. They are streaming on the internets.

    This sums up blue and sad pretty well, don’t you think?

    My favorite traveling companion, David, has hit the road solo to Virginia. For various reasons. In the big picture I was not a priority in his future plans. We were not the team I thought we were. I am hurt and blue but we are friends and this is not a drama. It is a hump that I will get over. I will miss him. I love him very much. We had a really great time together. There that is.

    I will get better about going places on my own. He left this past Wednesday, so my first solo trip is a little wimpy. I am having a good time just not the usual adventure. Lola is having an ok time. These expos wear her out. I do this for work. I have a booth that I explain the mortgage loan process and gather leads for my boss, who is a mortgage loan broker. I like it. I enjoy chatting up the people and I am pretty good at talking about mortgage stuff. Plus I love going to new places.

    She is a little pooper trooper 

    Lola loves to go but all these people make her cranky. We stay at pet friendly places. That makes things less stressful. The event venues always allow her in. I bring special travel bowls and what not so she feels at home. She misses David. She is confused by all of this. It is always the kids that suffer ;)

    Esme is glad to finally get her side of the bed back…we all know how our cat children view things don’t we?

     Tonight the hotel is filled with preteen kids and their parents (who are also enjoying the free beer and wine that the hotel offers). I think there is some sport thing with out of town teams and buses in the parking lot. These kids are screaming in the pool after dark, hogging all the happy hour snacks and running up and down the halls banging on doors. Yes, I was the cranky old lady that called the front desk and ratted them out!

    Hope this finds you all well, my xanga buddies. 

    Now that I got rid of my old ball and chain ;) maybe I’ll have more time to blog!

    xxoo

    Cassi

     

Comments (11)

  • You don’t have to be sad. I am sad for you and for dear Lola. I’m glad it’s not drama. You amaze me and I love you.
    Carry on my friend. You too Lola. Esme, we understand.

  • I am sorry to hear that your travel man has gone his seperate way. You are one blessed woman, hope you find joy in adventueing on your own. Loads o love 

  • if you are a cranky old lady (which I doubt) the world is not in trouble.  You are number one of my list for my next incarnation.

  • Sorry David has moved on.  At least it’s without drama and you’re still able to be friends.  That’s… better than the alternative.

    This looks like an interesting expo.  You know I have to look up the deer zipper now, right?  (I will not be offended… but now I’m immensely curious, lol.)

  • How very sad for Lola but especially for you.  Esme sounds like Duke.  He gets angry whenever anyone (except my friend Eric) comes over.  He stands on his front paws and glowers when someone takes the spot next to me in bed.  haha.  I’ve always liked the “we don’t call 911″ signs.  I am all for 2nd amendment rights (even though I personally can’t own a gun), but I think a gun show would be a little too much for me.  Maybe not the booths or guns themselves, but the gung ho people.

  • I’ve been thinking of you and wondering how you guys were doing. I’m sorry to hear the news. Hugs to you and Lola.

    My sister talked about moving to Chico when we were in Texas and trying to figure out where to move to in California. I’m glad now we didn’t. Davis seems like paradise to me.

  • @titus_bigglesworth - I never even got to the speedway crowd. They were able to attend the expo for free after the Monster Truck races. A gangsta tatted surly mix if there ever was one. Nice for the most part but a lot of culla. Davis is a safe haven compared. I still never saw the downtown which I hear is cute. But Sac’s midtown has far more charm then what I saw this weekend.

  • Sorry to hear about David, but it sounds as if you are ready to move on too, emotionally if not physically. Keep on exploring and enjoying the area you’re in — Davis is a wonderful place!

  • I’m bummed.  You two were so happy together.  But, I’m glad you’re handling it in an age appropriate way…free beer.  I’m also happy that you reached a satisfactory custody agreement.  If Mike ever left, I’d have to kill him if he tried to take the kids.  Well, Bob anyway; he can have the rest of the boys.

    I hope we see more of you on Xanga again.

  • I’m sorry your travel companion felt the need to go solo. That’s gotta be tough for you, Lola and Esme but you’re one helluva woman and I know you’re gonna be just fine. Love you C.

  • I am sorry you and David have gone separate ways. Loved the interesting post about where you were.

    Hope you cope well—sometimes it is tough.

    frank

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *